Honours and Awards Questions and Answers


U- Tant award is given for

   A.) Community leadership
   B.) Social service
   C.) Contribution to east-west understanding
   D.) Journalism

Answer: Option 'B'

Social service


_________________will confer a doctorate on former sprint queen PT Usha, who missed a medal by a whisker at the 1984 Los Angeles Olympics.

   A.) IIT, Kanpur
   B.) IIT, Delhi
   C.) IIT, Kharagpur
   D.) IIT, Bombay

Answer: Option 'A'

IIT, Kanpur
The Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kanpur will confer a doctorate on former sprint queen PT Usha, who missed a medal by a whisker at the 1984, Los Angeles Olympics. The degree, Doctor of Science (honoris causa – a degree awarded as a mark of esteem) will be conferred on June 16 to mark the 50th convocation of the prestigious institute of the country. This is her second doctorate – in 2002, Kannur University had conferred D.Lit on her.


Which one of the following is the Highest Award in India?

   A.) Bharat Ratna
   B.) Khel Ratna
   C.) Padma Bushan
   D.) None of these

Answer: Option 'A'

Bharat Ratna


Name the India's highest award which is given to a civilian

   A.) National Film Award
   B.) Bharat Ratna
   C.) Param Vir Chakra
   D.) Jananpeth Award

Answer: Option 'B'

​Bharat Ratna


Which district in Andra Pradesh won the MGNREGA annual award for effective implementation of the Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act?

   A.) Vizianagaram
   B.) Guntur
   C.) Vizag
   D.) Srikakulam

Answer: Option 'A'

The Ministry of Rural Development has selected Vizianagaram as one among the 17 districts across the nation for the MGNREGA annual award for effective implementation of the Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act during 2015-16. The award would be presented at the Mahatma Gandhi NREGA Sammelan to the district programme coordinator and District Collector on June 19, 2017 in New Delhi.


..................was conferred Sahitya Akademi Award for his poetry book Khara Zaran

   A.) Gunvant Shah
   B.) Mr. Chinu Modi
   C.) Robin Sharma
   D.) Narendra kohli

Answer: Option 'B'

Mr. Chinu Modi 


Which pair is not correctly matched

   A.) Mother Teresa - Magsaysay award
   B.) Mahadevi Verma - Megsaysay award
   C.) Indira Gandhi - UN population award
   D.) S. Chandrashekhar - Nobel Prize

Answer: Option 'B'

​Mahadevi Verma - Megsaysay award


The first Indian to share the Oscar award was

   A.) Bhanu Athaiya
   B.) Hargobind Khurana
   C.) Rabindranath Tagore
   D.) None of these

Answer: Option 'A'

​Bhanu Athaiya


Jawaharlal Nehru award is given for

   A.) Governament Science
   B.) International Understanding
   C.) Literary Work
   D.) Social work

Answer: Option 'B'

​International Understanding


Which of the following societies has instituted an award for an outstanding parliamentarian?

   A.) R. D. Birla samara Kosh
   B.) G. B. Pant Memorial Society
   C.) Institute of Constitutional and Parliamentary Studies
   D.) Jamanlal Bajaj Foundation

Answer: Option 'B'

​G. B. Pant Memorial Society


Who among the following is not a recipient of Dada Saheb Phalke Award

   A.) Ramanand Sagar
   B.) V.Shantaram
   C.) Raj Kapoor
   D.) Ashok Kumar

Answer: Option 'A'

​Ramanand Sagar


Who has won the Nobel prize in "Physics" for the year 2017?

   A.) Barry Barish
   B.) Rainer Weiss
   C.) Kip Thorne
   D.) All of the above

Answer: Option 'D'

Rainer Weiss, a professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and Kip Thorne and Barry Barish, both of the California Institute of Technology, were awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics for the discovery of ripples in space-time known as gravitational waves, which were predicted by Albert Einstein a century ago but had never been directly seen.


Mother Teresa was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in

   A.) 1969
   B.) 1979
   C.) 1959
   D.) 1949

Answer: Option 'B'



Feroz Gandhi Award is associated with

   A.) Preservation of worldlife
   B.) Journalism
   C.) Parlimentory debate
   D.) Medical Research

Answer: Option 'B'



'Goldman Awards' are given for outstanding contribution in which of the following fields

   A.) Conservation of Energy
   B.) Protection of environment
   C.) Popularization of Science
   D.) Population Control

Answer: Option 'B'

​Protection of environment

Honours and Awards Questions and Answers Download Pdf